Texas Is The Reason: Do You Know Who You Are?: The Complete Collection

Texas Is The Reason are re-releasing their only full-length album, Do You Know Who You Are? The collection will feature a re-mastered version of the disc, two unreleased songs, a list of concerts and unreleased photos. The post-hardcore quartet recently reunited for Revelation Records’ 25th anniversary show, as well as a second night at the Music Hall Of Williamsburg. As the record begins with the familiar drums and riffs, it’s like listening to it for the first time all over again.

Right after “The Day’s Refrain” and “A Jack With One Eye,” the two unreleased tracks are thrown in. The bright yet grungy “Every Little Girl’s Dream” is a bit of a shocker and doesn’t really mix with the original listing of Do You Know Who You Are? Lighter guitars, mystical percussion and vocals that are actually pretty understandable balance the drum-heavy cut. As the dream comes to a close, a slower tempo takes control briefly until the power and energy closes it out on a strong note. Those who attended either of the shows in October already have heard this song, seeing how the band incorporated it into their setlist.

Unlike its predecessor, “When Rock ‘N’ Roll Was Just A Baby” has a solid feel to it, fitting in seamlessly with the rest of the tracks on the release. Although having a similar tone to the other cuts, Garrett Klahn’s voice is significantly more mature and cleaner than in songs like “Blue Boy” or “Dressing Cold.”

Do You Know Who You Are?: The Complete Collection is a fantastic after-holiday gift for yourself or for the next generation of music lovers.

In A Word: Nostalgic